About the Marketing, Business Development & Community Outreach Council

The Marketing, Business Development & Community Outreach Council provides professionals in the marketing, communications, media relations, public relations, business development, and community outreach fields the opportunity to network and share their challenges and successes in promoting  credit union awareness, products, and services. The Council is interactive and belongs to the members. Beneficial presentations are offered along with the opportunity for credit union professionals to share in roundtable discussions. Three annual meetings provide an outlet that will further the success of credit unions.

Council Meeting Dates
  • Session One (Zoom Video Conference Only) – Thursday, April 2, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. PDT (11 a.m. – 3 p.m. MDT)
  • Session Two (Zoom Video Conference Only) – Thursday, June 11, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. PDT (11 a.m. – 2 p.m. MDT)
  • Session Three – Tuesday, Dec. 1, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. PDT (11 a.m. – 3 p.m. MDT)

Session Two - June 11

 Telling Your Story in the COVID Era – and Beyond 

The Council we had planned to kick off 2020 was all about telling the credit union story. But COVID-19 happened, and we had to shift gears to focus on the immediate environment. In a matter of weeks, your members’ lives changed and so did the way you’re providing services to them. Yes, COVID-19 changed the world. But it didn’t change credit unions’ “People Helping People” mission. In fact, it made that work even more important. Your connection to members is more personal now than it ever has been.  

This is a good time to focus on the story of that personal connection. Lisa Kagan can help us with that.Kagan is an expert storyteller who wowed us on the mainstage at MAXX last fall. She’ll take us through an interactive workshop that will help us find the characters who make our stories real.  

How has the way you’re telling your members’ story changed in the COVID era? Chylon Pappas will share some before and after examples from First Tech Federal Credit Union. We want to hear from you during the council meeting as well.

Register Now

Thursday, June 11Program Agenda
10:00 – 10:10 a.m. PDT
11:00 – 11:10 a.m. MDT
Welcome
Lynn Heider, VP, Communications & PR, NWCUA
10:10 – 11:00 a.m. PDT
11:10 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. MDT
Humanizing Your Credit Union’s Brand Through Your Members’ Stories
Your members’ priorities have changed, but your priority to serve them hasn’t.
Lisa Kagan, Storytelling Coach for Executives, Storyteller
11:00 – 11:15 a.m. PDT
12:00 – 12:15 p.m. MDT
Break
11:15 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PDT
12:15 – 1:00 p.m. MDT
First Tech FCU’s Member Story Pivot
Chylon Pappas, VP, Business Development, First Tech FCU
12:00 – 12:10 p.m. PDT
1:00 – 1:10 p.m. MDT
Break
12:10 – 12:30 p.m. PDT
1:00 – 1:20 p.m. MDT
Templates & Other Resources to Tell Your Story
Elizabeth Baker, Communications Director, NWCUA
12:30 – 12:50 p.m. PDT
1:30 – 1:50 p.m. MDT
Networking Roundtable
All
12:50 – 1:00 p.m. PDT
1:50 – 2:00 p.m. MDT
Wrap-up
Lynn Heider, VP, Communications & PR, NWCUA

Session Three - Dec. 1

Event information coming soon.

Register Now

Visit the Marketing Resources Center

We frequently update the Marketing Resource Center, to keep it stocked with tools to help you tell the credit union story. Visit the resource center to find research-proven messaging, best practices, and customizable templates.

Council Memberships & Scholarships

Council Memberships

Attend an individual council meeting or purchase a membership for your credit union. Click here to view Council membership options and pricing.

A la Carte Options:

Individual Council Attendance: $99

Scholarships

Continued education and training of credit union employees helps keep the Credit Union Movement vibrant and competitive in the financial marketplace. We understand this can take a significant commitment of time and money. The Northwest Credit Union Foundation provides professional development scholarships awarding up to $1,500 per year for selected applicants.

Learn More & Apply

Council Resources

There is a listerv associated with this Council, email [email protected] to get added.

Sponsor

Thank you to our Sponsor:

NWCUA Staff Liaison

Your NWCUA Staff Liaison
Lynn Heider
VP, Communications and Public Affairs
Direct: 503.350.2225
Toll Free: 800.995.9064 x225
[email protected]

Cancellation & Refund Policy

Twenty-four hour cancellation notice required. Failure to do so will result in a $10.00 fee. Refunds are not available. This program is open to NWCUA Member and Associate Member credit union employees only. For more information about the Northwest Credit Union Association’s Council program, email our AVP of Member Engagement, Carmen Vigil.

Questions or Concerns?

For assistance with registration please contact our Project Manager,  Christina Burmester  at 800.995.9064 x112  or via email.