About the HR & Trainers Council

The HR & Trainers’ Council provides a forum for credit union professionals in human resources and training to learn about new techniques, preview other credit union’s practices, and share professional presentations in this self-directed forum. The open format of this Council serves to encourage and recharge staff dealing with similar challenges and developments within the Credit Union Movement. Human resources and training professionals will gather to learn, teach, and pass on tips; providing resources, information, and networking and professional development opportunities to best prepare for what’s on the horizon.

Council Meeting Dates
  • Session One, April 4, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. PDT (11 a.m. – 3 p.m. MDT)
  • Session Two, Dec. 11, 10 a.m. – 2 pm. PST (11 a.m. – 3 p.m. MST)
Event Locations

Council meetings will continue to be held in NWCUA offices with lunch provided and an opportunity to network with peers. Attendees will now be able to call-in directly from their desks, or convene with a group of their co-workers or peers in a conference room at their credit union. In-person Council meetings will no longer be organized in Eugene, Lewiston, Medford, Pocatello, or Spokane.

NWCUA Idaho Office
2710 W Sunrise Rim Road
Suite 100
Boise, ID 83705

NWCUA Oregon Office
13221 SW 68th Pkwy
Suite 400
Tigard, OR 97223

NWCUA Washington Office
18000 International Blvd
Suite 350
SeaTac, WA 98188

Session 1 Information - April 4, 2019

Event Details:

April 4, 2019
10 a.m. – 2 p.m. (PDT)
11 a.m. – 3 p.m. (MDT)

Agenda
10:00 – 10:15 a.m. PDT
11:00 – 11:15 a.m. MDT
Welcome & Introductions
Jennifer Huggard, SVP, Administration & Governance Affairs, NWCUA
10:15 – 11:15 a.m. PDT
11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. MDT
Benefits for all Audiences—how do you do it?
Donna Losch, SVP, Brown & Brown Insurance

Generation Z is entering the workforce and they are looking at things very differently than Millennials and/or Baby Boomers. What, if anything, does that mean for your Employee Benefits Packages? What do you need to do about it? Join Donna as she discusses how different generations and ages impact how employees appreciate and value different aspects of your Employee Benefit Packages and what you can do to make your offerings as attractive as possible to all generations.
11:20 – 11:45 a.m. PDT
12:20 – 12:45 p.m. MDT
What is the Community Impact Reporting Tool?
Sharee Adkins, Executive Director, NWCUF

At the end of 2018, the Northwest Credit Union Association launched the Community Impact Reporting Tool. The customized software enables credit unions to track data on community development, lending, social responsibility, charitable giving, and volunteerism. The collected data will help paint a clear and comprehensive picture of the story of Northwest credit unions’ powerful social impact on their communities throughout the region. NWCUF Executive Director, Sharee Adkins will give us a high-level overview of tool that can be implemented at your credit union.
11:45 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. PDT
12:45 – 1:30 p.m. MDT
Networking Lunch
Included in your Registration if you are attending in a NWCUA office.
12:30 – 1:30 p.m. PDT
1:30 – 2:30 p.m. MDT
A Total Revamp of Verity University – CU Best Practices
Rachel Biars, Training & Development Specialist
Debbie Schorzman, HR Generalist


2018 CUNA HR/OD Excellence Award Winners will tell us how they successfully revamped their existing Verity University. Keeping top talent is paramount to their success in growing their credit union. By developing their staff internally, they can promote from within, create the talent bench, and build out a succession plan.

They will walk thru the program, their approach, the revamp, what has come of it since the revamp, and Q&A’s about their program.
1:30 - 2:00 p.m. PDT
2:30 - 3:00 p.m. MDT
Roundtable Discussion & Wrap Up
Jennifer Huggard, SVP, Administration & Governance Affairs, NWCUA

Register Now

Session 2 Information - Dec. 11, 2019

Event Details:

Dec. 11, 2019
10 a.m. – 2 p.m. (PST)
11 a.m. – 3 p.m. (MST)

Register Now

More information coming soon.

Event Sponsor

Thank you to our sponsor:

Farleigh Wada Witt

Council Memberships & Scholarships

Council Memberships

Attend an individual council meeting or purchase a membership for your credit union. Click here to view Council membership options and pricing.

A la Carte Options
  • Individual Council Attendance: $79
Scholarships

Continued education and training of credit union employees helps keep the Credit Union Movement vibrant and competitive in the financial marketplace. We understand this can take a significant commitment of time and money. The Northwest Credit Union Foundation provides professional development scholarships awarding up to $1,500 per year for selected applicants.

Learn More & Apply

Council Resources

There is a listerv associated with this Council, email training@nwcua.org to get added.

NWCUA Staff Liaison

Your NWCUA Staff Liaison
Jennifer Huggard
SVP, Administration and Governance Affairs
Direct: 206.340.4842
Toll Free: 800.995.9064 x154
jhuggard@nwcua.org

Cancellation & Refund Policy

Twenty-four hour cancellation notice required. Failure to do so will result in a $10.00 fee. Refunds are not available. This program is open to NWCUA Member and Associate Member credit union employees only. For more information about the Northwest Credit Union Association’s Council program, email Carmen Vigil at cvigil@nwcua.org.