About the Compliance Council

The Compliance Council brings Northwest compliance professionals together to discuss the challenges inherent in keeping credit unions compliant with the regulations that govern them. The Council provides opportunities to meet with your counterparts from other credit unions, discuss upcoming regulatory changes, and devise strategies to implement them. Members benefit from the collective intelligence of compliance peers, all trying to create best practices for credit unions.

Council Meeting Dates
  • Session One (Zoom Video Conference Only) – Thursday, March 19, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. PDT (11 a.m. – 3 p.m. MDT)
  • Session Two (Zoom Video Conference Only) – Tuesday, June 9, 10 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. PDT (11 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. MDT)
  • Session Three – Thursday, Nov. 19, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. PDT (11 a.m. – 3 p.m. MDT)

Session Two - June 9

As we start to reopen our states after the COVID-19 emergency, please join us for Session Two of the 2020 Compliance Networking Council, which will include a discussion on re-opening.  Please plan to come and participate in the round table forum to discuss your credit unions strategy for reopening, as well as challenges and successes that you have experience.  During the Compliance Council Session Two, we will also cover additional compliance topics such as the NCUA’s rules on residential real estate appraisals, FRB’s Regulation D transfer limits, HMDA thresholds, and even a legal update on new trends in legal actions in terms of COVID-19 (ADA, PPP Loans, and others) 

Register Now

June 9, 2020Program Agenda
10:00 – 10:10 a.m. PDT
11:00 – 11:10 a.m. MDT
Welcome
David Curtis, Director Compliance, NWCUA
10:10 – 11:15 a.m. PDT
11:10 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. MDT
Group Discussion – COVID-19 re-entry plans
• How are your re-entry plans working?
• Branch access?
• Social distancing?
• PPE?
• Member reactions shift in services
• Questions on loan skip-payments
• ALLL
• Non-COVID question – if you offer prepaid cards, how do you handle a garnishment of a member?
11:15 – 11:30 a.m. PDT
12:15 – 12:30 p.m. MDT
Break
11:30 – 11:45 a.m. PDT
12:30 – 12:45 p.m. MDT
Legal Advocacy Updates (ADA, PPP Loans, and others)
Will Hall, Director Legal Advocacy, NWCUA
11:45 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. PDT
12:45 – 1:30 p.m. MDT
Rule Updates (Real Estate Appraisals, Remittance Transfers, HDMA Thresholds, Reg D transfer limits, and what is still out there)
David Curtis, Director Compliance Services, NWCUA

Session Three - Nov. 19

Event information coming soon.

Register Now

Sponsor

Thank you to our sponsor

Council Memberships & Scholarships

Council Memberships

Attend an individual council meeting or purchase a membership for your credit union. Click here to view Council membership options and pricing.

A la Carte Options:

Individual Council Attendance: $99

Scholarships

Continued education and training of credit union employees helps keep the Credit Union Movement vibrant and competitive in the financial marketplace. We understand this can take a significant commitment of time and money. The Northwest Credit Union Foundation provides professional development scholarships awarding up to $1,500 per year for selected applicants.

Learn More & Apply

Council Resources

There is a listerv associated with this Council, email [email protected] to get added.

NWCUA Staff Liaison

Your NWCUA Staff Liaison
David Curtis
Director, Compliance Services
Direct: 206.340.4785
Toll Free: 800.995.9064 x151
[email protected]

Cancellation & Refund Policy

Twenty-four hour cancellation notice required. Failure to do so will result in a $10.00 fee. Refunds are not available. This program is open to NWCUA Member and Associate Member credit union employees only. For more information about the Northwest Credit Union Association’s Council program, email our AVP of Member Engagement, Carmen Vigil.

Questions or Concerns?

For assistance with registration please contact our Director of Programing, Holly Miller at 800.995.9064 x220 or via email.