About the Collectors’ Council

Register now for 2019 Council meetings! The Collectors’ Council provides an opportunity to share challenges, successes, and trends with collection and recovery peers. The demand to keep delinquencies low and recoveries high is challenging for any professional in this field. By meeting regularly with peers, participants can gain a new perspective and share knowledge that will help make this task easier while improving their credit union’s ability to accomplish its goals.

Council Meeting Dates

  • Session One, Jan. 24, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. PST (11 a.m. – 3 p.m. MST)
  • Session Two, Aug. 8, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. PST (11 a.m. – 3 p.m. MST)

Event Locations

Council meetings will continue to be held in NWCUA offices with lunch provided and an opportunity to network with peers. Attendees will now be able to call-in directly from their desks, or convene with a group of their co-workers or peers in a conference room at their credit union. In-person Council meetings will no longer be organized in Eugene, Lewiston, Medford, Pocatello, or Spokane.

NWCUA Idaho Office
2710 W Sunrise Rim Road
Suite 100
Boise, ID 83705

NWCUA Oregon Office
13221 SW 68th Pkwy
Suite 400
Tigard, OR 97223

NWCUA Washington Office
18000 International Blvd
Suite 350
SeaTac, WA 98188

Session 1 Information - Jan. 24, 2019

Event Details:

Jan. 24, 2019
10 a.m. – 2 p.m. (PT)
11 a.m. – 3 p.m. (MT)

Register Now

This session will include: A presentation from Margot Seitz, Shareholder at Farleigh Wada Witt, who will address working with legal counsel when a member files for bankruptcy. A member’s bankruptcy often presents a host of challenges for a collector, and it can take the experience and expertise of legal counsel to ensure legal and regulatory requirements are met, as well as to ensure the greatest recovery for the credit union. Along the way, there are questions about what the credit union can and cannot do, what it can do on its own and what it must or should rely on counsel to do. Farleigh Wada Witt will discuss these questions, how to manage costs and other best practices. We’ll also hear from Jordan Van Rijn, CUNA’s Senior Economist who will provide an economic outlook for 2019 and what it may mean for collectors and collections. Finally, we’ll network, share ideas and discuss hot topics during a roundtable discussion.

10 a.m. - 10:10 a.m. PT
11 a.m. - 11:10 a.m. MT
Welcome & Introductions
Will Hall, Compliance Services Consultant, NWCUA
10:10 a.m. - 11:10 a.m. PT
11:10 a.m. - 12:10 p.m. MT
CUNA’s Economic Forecast for 2019: The Implications for Collectors and Collections
Jordan van Rijn, Senior Economist, CUNA
11:10 a.m. - 11:20 a.m. PT
12:10 p.m. - 12:20 p.m. MT
Break
11:20 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. PT
12:20 p.m. - 12:45 p.m. MT
Collectors Roundtable
All Participants
11:45 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. PT
12:45 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. MT
Networking Lunch
Included in your registration if you are attending in a NWCUA office.
12:30 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. PT
1:30 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. MT
Member Bankruptcy: When and how to Work with Legal Counsel
Margot Seitz, Shareholder, Farleigh Wada Witt
1:30 p.m. - 1:50 p.m. PT
2:30 p.m. - 2:50 p.m. MT
Resources for Collectors
Will Hall, Compliance Services Consultant, NWCUA
1:50 p.m. - 2 p.m. PT
2:50 p.m. - 3 p.m. MT
Wrap Up
Will Hall, Compliance Services Consultant, NWCUA

About the Presenters

Margot SeitzMargot Seitz

Shareholder • Farleigh Wada Witt

With a background in economics, Margot Seitz is able to quickly apply legal principles to the business world, conduct cost-benefit analysis, and simplify complex issues for her clients. Seitz has a diverse debtor-creditor practice representing all types of parties in all types of insolvency matters. She regularly advises banks, credit unions, other financial service providers, creditors, trustees, and receivers in bankruptcy and receivership proceedings.  Her business intellect and creative problem solving help craft practical solutions to difficult issues. Additionally, Seitz is a member of the Oregon State Bar Debtor-Creditor Executive Committee and the Local Bankruptcy Rules Committee. She has an equally broad litigation practice where she represents companies and individuals in state-court litigation. Her experience includes real property disputes, construction defect claims, business dissolution disputes, commercial collections, contract disputes, and estate dispute litigation. In her estate planning practice, Seitz focuses mainly on estate and trust administration, probates, and conservatorships. She became an attorney to help people and enjoys serving as a strong advocate for her clients.

Jordan Van RijnJordan van Rijn

Senior Economist • CUNA

Jordan van Rijn, Senior Economist, Credit Union National Association (CUNA), has nearly 10 years of experience in economic development, microfinance, and economic research in Latin America, Africa, Southeast Asia, and the United States. He conducts statistical and economic analysis to support CUNA’s advocacy efforts. Prior to joining CUNA, Van Rijn worked as a Senior Loan Officer for ACCION New Mexico, a non-profit small-business lender. Before that, he worked as a Project Associate for ideas42, where he utilized insights from behavioral economics to improve microcredit services in Colombia. Van Rijn has a PhD in Agricultural and Applied Economics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and is a Fellow at UW-Madison’s Center for Financial Security. He also holds a master’s degree in International Development and Economics from UC-San Diego, and a bachelor’s degree in International Studies from Middlebury College.

Session 2 Information - Aug. 8, 2019

Event Details:

Aug. 8, 2019
10 a.m. – 2 p.m. (PT)
11 a.m. – 3 p.m. (MT)

Event details coming soon.

Register Now

Event Sponsor

Thank you to our sponsor:

Farleigh Wada Witt

Council Memberships & Scholarships

Council Memberships

Attend an individual council meeting or purchase a membership for your credit union. Click here to view Council membership options and pricing.

A la Carte Options:

  • Individual Council Attendance: $79

Scholarships

Continued education and training of credit union employees helps keep the Credit Union Movement vibrant and competitive in the financial marketplace. We understand this can take a significant commitment of time and money. The Northwest Credit Union Foundation provides professional development scholarships awarding up to $1,500 per year for selected applicants.

Learn More & Apply

Council Resources

There is a listerv associated with this Council, email training@nwcua.org to get added.

NWCUA Staff Liaison

Will Hall
Compliance Services Consultant
Direct: 208.297.5877
Toll Free: 800.995.9064 x302
whall@nwcua.org

Cancellation & Refund Policy

Twenty-four hour cancellation notice required. Failure to do so will result in a $10.00 fee. Refunds are not available. This program is open to NWCUA Member and Associate Member credit union employees only. For more information about the Northwest Credit Union Association’s Council program, email Carmen Vigil at cvigil@nwcua.org.