Event Info

June 23rd

10:00 am - 3:00 pm PDT
11:00 am - 4:00 pm MDT


5 hours


$449.00 (late registration price)

Register Now

.

Program Overview

Will the end of one presidential administration and the beginning of a new one result in a sea of compliance changes?  Find out by joining your peers during the 2021 Compliance Legal Update.

It’s critical for credit unions to stay up to date on the latest compliance information. Join your Association and the team from Farleigh Wada Witt for this year’s virtual Compliance Legal Update, where you’ll learn about what’s expected in 2021 and how best to prepare.

Hauser Jones & Sas and the NWCUA Compliance Team will also provide the latest information available regarding new laws, regulations, and compliance and regulatory updates.

The Farleigh Wada Witt team will offer insights and updates to ensure that your credit union remains current with necessary compliance information, and your Association’s Compliance Team will provide the latest information available regarding new laws, regulations, and compliance updates.

Here are a few key topics we plan to discuss:

  • CFPB Interpretive Rule / Bostock Case re: Discrimination Based on Sexual Orientation 
  • New QM Rules
  • Regulatory Issues with EFT and Other Fraud (Cash Apps, ACH, Card Transactions)
  • Debt Collection: Hinkley and the CFPB’s Rule 
  • TCPA Update: Supreme Court Facebook Decision 
  • Pandemic Credit Reporting Issues
  • Litigation Update: DACA, NSF, ATM Fees, MLA, Foreign Trade Fees 
  • Recent NCUA Regulatory Actions
    • Joint Share Account Rule 
    • Subordinated Debt 
    • Mortgage Servicing Rights (proposed) 
    • Overdraft Policy (proposed) 

Additional topics may be added as new compliance challenges come to light in the coming days.

This year’s Compliance Legal Update will be a digital-only event, hosted via Zoom. Meeting dial-in information will be sent to attendees several days before the event. 

Sponsored By

To learn more and connect with our sponsors, please reach out to Strategic Link

Program Agenda

More Information Will Be Available Soon.

9:00 a.m. - 9:05 a.m. PDT
10:00 a.m. - 10:05 a.m. MDT
Welcome
David Curtis • Director of Compliance Services • NWCUA
9:05 a.m. - 9:50 a.m. PDT
10:05 a.m. - 10:50 a.m. MDT
Update from our Sponsor
Compliance/Audit providing support to policy and cultural objectives
of the credit union
Roger Jones • Partner • Hauser, Jones & Sas
Cathie Jensen • Hauser, Jones & Sas
Tavish Taylor • Hauser, Jones & Sas

9:50 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. PDT
10:50 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. MDT
Break
10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. PDT
11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. MDT
Morning Session - Regulatory and Legal Updates
Hal Scoggins • Shareholder• Farleigh Wada Witt
Brian Witt • Partner • Farleigh Wada Witt
Kelley Hodney • Associate • Farleigh Wada Witt
12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. PDT
1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. MDT
Lunch Break
1:00 p.m. - 3:45 p.m. PDT
2:00 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. MDT
Afternoon Session - Continued Regulatory and Legal Updates
Hal Scoggins • Shareholder• Farleigh Wada Witt
Brian Witt • Partner • Farleigh Wada Witt
Kelley Hodney • Associate • Farleigh Wada Witt
3:45 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. PDT
4:45 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. MDT
Wrap-Up
David Curtis • Director of Compliance Services • NWCUA

 

About the Trainers

More Information Will Be Available Soon.

Pricing Information

Early-Bird Pricing (available until Feb. 26)$349.00
Regular Pricing (available until April 16)$389.00
Late Pricing$449.00

Scholarships

Continued education and training of credit union employees helps keep the Credit Union Movement vibrant and competitive in the financial marketplace. We understand this can take a significant commitment of time and money.  The Northwest Credit Union Foundation provides professional development scholarships awarding up to $1,000 per year for selected applicants.  Learn more on the  NWCUF website. 

QUESTIONS, CANCELLATIONS, OR CONCERNS?

Registration fees are non-refundable after May 23, 2021. Substitutions will be accepted by notifying NWCUA directly.

This program is open to NWCUA Member and Associate Member credit union employees only. For more information about the Northwest Credit Union Association’s Compliance Legal Update Seminar, or assistance with registration, please contact  Holly Miller, Programming Director.