About the Risk Management Council

The Risk Management Council provides an opportunity for professionals in various risk-related roles to discuss trends, share best practices, and discover solutions to shared challenges. This council focuses on physical, information, and cyber security, as well as business continuity and disaster recovery. By connecting peers in these areas, this council will foster communication and support that is beneficial for the credit union movement in terms of identifying and reducing the many areas of risk that credit unions face daily.

Council Meeting Dates

2019

  • Session Two, Dec. 10, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m. PST (11 a.m. – 3 p.m. MST)

2020

  • Session One – Wednesday, April 29 (Time TBD)
  • Session Two – Thursday, Oct. 29 (Time TBD)
Event Locations

Council meetings will continue to be held in NWCUA offices with lunch provided and an opportunity to network with peers. Attendees will now be able to call-in directly from their desks, or convene with a group of their co-workers or peers in a conference room at their credit union. In-person Council meetings will no longer be organized in Eugene, Lewiston, Medford, Pocatello, Spokane, or Vancouver.

NWCUA Idaho Office
2710 W Sunrise Rim Road
Suite 100
Boise, ID 83705

NWCUA Oregon Office
13221 SW 68th Pkwy
Suite 400
Tigard, OR 97223

NWCUA Washington Office
18000 International Blvd
Suite 350
SeaTac, WA 98188

Session 2 Information - Dec. 10, 2019

Event Details:

Dec. 10, 2019
10 a.m. – 2 p.m. (PT)
11 a.m. – 3 p.m. (MT)

Register Now

This Risk Management Council meeting will cover a broad range of topics assembled to help attendees think about risk in a holistic, enterprise-wide manner. In the morning, we will discuss operational and security risks, followed by a deep dive on compliance risk with our legal partner Hal Scoggins, Attorney at Farleigh Wada Witt. In the afternoon, we will focus on cybersecurity and cyber threats, with a presentation from Tim Ryan, Managing Director at Sheltered Harbor. Sheltered Harbor is a not-for-profit subsidiary of the Financial Services Information Sharing and Analysis Center, dedicated to protecting consumers, financial institutions, and public confidence in the financial system in the event of a cyberattack. The segment will help Northwest credit unions better understand the overall risk behind cyberattacks as well as how to engage with the Sheltered Harbor network. 

Program AgendaTuesday, Dec. 10, 2019
10:00 – 10:10 a.m. PST
11:00 – 11:10 a.m. MST
Welcome
Carmen Vigil, Director of Cooperative Momentum, NWCUA
10:10 – 11:00 a.m. PST
11:10 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. MST
Preparing for the Unthinkable: Employee Safety & Active Shooter Incidents
Michael Petrone, Risk Management Consultant, CUNA Mutual Group
11:00 – 11:10 a.m. PST
12:00 – 12:10 p.m. MST
Break
11:10 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PST
12:10 – 1:00 p.m. MST
Compliance Risk Considerations
Hal Scoggins, Attorney, Farleigh Wada Witt
11:45 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. PST
12:45 – 1:30 p.m. MST
Networking Lunch
*Included in your Registration if you are attending in a NWCUA office
1:00 – 1:45 p.m. PST
2:00 – 2:45 p.m. MST
Cyber Attack Considerations: The Sheltered Harbor Solution
Tim Ryan, Managing Director, Sheltered Harbor
1:45 – 2:00 p.m. PST
2:45 – 3:00 p.m. MST
Wrap-up & 2020 Content Brainstorm

Event Sponsor

Thank you to our sponsor:

IP Services proactively manages clients’ cybersecurity and critical IT systems and applications in any datacenter using the VisibleOpsTM methodology and the quality control system we created called TotalControl™. IP Services’ Next Generation Cybersecurity uses scientifically proven best practices to secure businesses and the users they serve by monitoring and protecting the systems and applications that are the heart of modern business – Managed Services and Managed Cybersecurity Services. IP Services’ target market is best suited for small and medium size credit unions that lack the resources to effectively provide comprehensive IT management and necessary security and compliance services.

Council Memberships & Scholarships

Council Memberships

Attend an individual council meeting or purchase a membership for your credit union. Click here to view Council membership options and pricing.

A la Carte Options:
  • Individual Council Attendance: $79 (2019)
  • Individual Council Attendance: $99 (2020)
Scholarships

Continued education and training of credit union employees helps keep the Credit Union Movement vibrant and competitive in the financial marketplace. We understand this can take a significant commitment of time and money. The Northwest Credit Union Foundation provides professional development scholarships awarding up to $1,500 per year for selected applicants.

Learn More & Apply

Council Resources

Email [email protected] to be added to the listerv associated with this Council.

Staff Liaison

Carmen Vigil
Director, Cooperative Momentum
Direct: 206.340.4817
Toll Free: 800.995.9064 x122
[email protected]

Cancellation & Refund Policy

Twenty-four hour cancellation notice required. Failure to do so will result in a $10.00 fee. Refunds are not available.  This program is open to NWCUA Member and Associate Member credit union employees only.  For more information about the Northwest Credit Union Association’s Council program, email Carmen Vigil at  [email protected].