Program Overview

Are you a chapter leader, young professional, Emerging Leader alumni, CUDE, or want to make a personal difference by being more engaged with these credit union communities? Then this event series is for you! Both half-day events, in June and September, will include deep dives and thought-provoking discussion around Leadership, Education, Advocacy, and Credit Union Philosophy, with each session designed to help you discover and refine your role in actively furthering the Credit Union Movement. 

In the spirit of raising our level of collaboration here in the Northwest, please note that these expanded events will take the place of the traditional Chapter Leadership Workshop and are designed to not only help credit union micro-communities further connect, but to also have a greater potential impact on each other, credit unions, our members and our local communities. 

Location and Travel Information

Both of the Micro-Communities Connect events will take place via Zoom videoconferencing, and in our three NWCUA offices. Participants may attend remotely from their desktop or at a NWCUA office location in Boise, SeaTac, or Tigard.  

June Event 
June 6, 2019 
9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. (PDT) 
10:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. (MDT) 

Register Now

September Event 
September 24, 2019 
9:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. (PDT) 
10:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. (MDT) 

Register Now

Program Agenda

These events are presented as a series, one occurring in June and one in September. Although yohave the option to attend one or both, we encourage you to participate in both and walk away with the most value and opportunities to connect with other credit union champions.

June 6 Event Agenda

9:30 - 9:45 a.m. PDT
10:30 - 10:45 a.m. MDT
Welcome & Introductions
9:45 - 10:50 a.m. PDT
10:45 - 11:50 a.m. MDT
The Power of Cooperation Among Cooperatives
Debbie Wege, Cooperative Community Advocate at BECU, will lead us through an in-depth discussion on the structure of the Credit Union Movement and the unique role of micro-communities within that structure. We will dive into how the movement is designed for collaboration, explore historical moments where together we achieved more, and identify the specific ways that we can help each other move forward. Throughout this session, we will also share best practices on hosting events, spreading the word, driving community impact, and championing advocacy in our collective efforts.
10:50 - 11:00 a.m. PDT
11:50 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. MDT
Technology Break
11:00 - 11:25 a.m. PDT
12:00 - 12:25 p.m. MDT
Lessons on Innovation
Alex Kostenko is on a mission! As Director of Strategy & Innovation at Sunshine Coast Credit Union, she is searching far and wide for the best examples of how to leverage the cooperative model and implement new ideas, all for maximum growth and impact at her credit union. Join us as our neighbor from British Columbia shares highlights from her work as a young professional driving change!
11:25 - 11:45 a.m. PDT
12:25 - 12:45 p.m. MDT
Build Engagement and Membership Through Social Media
Social media is a powerful storytelling tool that, when used strategically, can build engagement and membership. We’ll dive in to tactics and best practices for Facebook, LinkedIn, and Twitter with NWCUA Communications Director, Elizabeth Baker. Learn about how to use it – and how not to use it – to get the best results.
11:45 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. PDT
12:45 - 1:00 p.m. MDT
Open Discussion and Greater Good
This is your time to ask your burning questions and help define the agenda for our next event on Sept. 24.
12:00 p.m. PDT
1:00 p.m. MDT
Meeting Adjourns/Lunch in NWCUA Offices
For those attending in a NWCUA office, hang back and network with other micro-community leaders and NWCUA staff.
   

If you have ideas or suggestions about what topics you’d like to see covered at these events, please contact Carmen Vigil.  

Scholarships

Continued education and training of credit union employees helps keep the Credit Union Movement vibrant and competitive in the financial marketplace. We understand at times this may require a commitment of time and money. 

The Northwest Credit Union Foundation provides scholarships for credit union-related educational courses and professional development programs to ensure credit union employees have access to the training they need to successfully serve their organizations and their communities. Scholarships to help with travel expenses for this event are available through the Northwest Credit Union Foundation. For information and to apply, visit the Foundation website. 

Questions

As a valued member, we appreciate your continued dedication to the Credit Union Movement. Please contact Carmen Vigil, Director, Cooperative Momentum, with any questions or needs regarding this workshop.