NWCUA’s 2017 Annual Awards Program Honors Outstanding Contributions to the Credit Union Movement


Some of the Northwest Credit Union Movement’s most exceptional leaders gathered at the Northwest Credit Union Association’s annual “Oscars” ceremony last week: the Awards Dinner and Gala at the 2017 MAXX Convention. Hosted by Troy Stang, NWCUA’s President and CEO, and Denise Gabel, NWCUA’s COO and NWCUF’s Executive Director, your Association was honored to present a total of 42 awards to outstanding credit unions, chapters, and leaders throughout Idaho, Oregon, and Washington.

Lifetime Achievement

Retiring STCU President/CEO Tom Johnson was honored with the Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

“Tom has seized every opportunity to propel the Credit Union Movement forward,” Stang said. “He consistently leads by example to serve his local community, engage with elected officials, and spread good news about the credit union difference.”

Last year’s Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Larry Hoff, joined Stang and Gabel to present Johnson with the award. Johnson’s family also made a surprise appearance, greeting him as he stepped onstage to accept the honor.

Innovation and Impact

For the first time in NWCUA Awards program history, a team captured the Innovation and Impact Award. Oregon-based Rogue Credit Union was honored for its Rogue Management School.

“Rogue created a unique, two-year program that grew leaders internally,” Stang said. “As a result, the credit union developed a pool of managers who not only demonstrate technical and professional leadership expertise, but have also been steeped in the credit union’s culture.”

Distinguished Director

NWCUA’s newest awards category, the Distinguished Director Award, was presented to Roger Mauldin of Washington-based BECU. BECU’s Senior Vice President of Marketing & Cooperative Affairs, Tom Berquist, took the stage to present heartfelt congratulations to Mauldin for his service.

As a CUNA Governmental Affairs Conference and Hike the Hill attendee, Mauldin is an ardent advocate who has educated state and federal lawmakers about credit unions. He has served on the BECU Board of Directors since 1983.

“Roger upholds his credit union’s history and cooperative values while advocating for innovation and change,” Stang noted.

Young Credit Union Leader

Nick Fugal, Chief Financial Officer of Idaho-based Clarity Credit Union, received the Young Credit Union Leader Award. Fugal is a former CUNA GAC “crasher” and is actively engaged as a member of the NWCUA’s Idaho Governmental Affairs Committee. He is an honors graduate of the Western CUNA Management School, helped establish the young professionals group Climb Idaho, and helped the NWCUA launch its Northwest Young Professionals Network this year.

Advocacy Champions

NWCUA also honored three credit union leaders — one from each state the Association represents — as Advocates of the Year:

  • Connie Miller, President and CEO, Icon Credit Union, Boise, Idaho. Miller implemented advocacy and political fundraising training for her entire staff, co-chairs the NWCUA’s Idaho Governmental Affairs Committee, and actively participates in all key NWCUA advocacy initiatives.
  • Gene Pelham, President and CEO, Rogue Credit Union, Medford, Oregon.  Pelham has organized internal and external Governmental Affairs Committees at Rogue, and invested in advocacy training for all staff.  He has served as Co-Chair of the NWCUA’s Oregon Governmental Affairs Committee.
  • Jeff Kennedy, President and CEO, TwinStar Credit Union, Lacey, Washington. TwinStar shares advocacy information not only with staff, but with its members. Kennedy, current Co-Chair of NWCUA’s Washington Governmental Affairs Committee, has personally hosted fundraising events for candidates who support credit unions.

“These leaders are all examples of what it takes to inspire others — be they elected officials, non-member consumers, staff, or members — to understand how credit unions are different,” Stang said.

In addition, six credit unions from each state were presented with “Top of the Hill” honors for consistently excelling in advocacy initiatives.

  • Idaho: Beehive Federal Credit Union, CapEd Credit Union, East Idaho Credit Union, P1FCU, and Simplot Employees Credit Union
  • Oregon: Central Willamette Community Credit Union, First Tech Federal Credit Union, Oregon State Credit Union, Providence Federal Credit Union, Rivermark Community Credit Union, and Rogue Credit Union
  • Washington: Fibre Federal Credit Union, Newrizons Federal Credit Union, Numerica Credit Union, Seattle Credit Union, Sound Credit Union, and TwinStar Credit Union

Chapter Awards

NWCUA presented its “LEAP” award to the Spokane Chapter of Credit Unions for overall excellence in leadership, education, advocacy, and philosophy in action.

Honorable mention awards were given to the Southwest Washington Chapter of Credit Unions for educational programming, the Southwest Chapter of Idaho Credit Unions for excellence in Leadership, and the Willamette Chapter of Oregon Credit Unions for its work in educational programming and philosophy in action.

CUNA Awards

Nine Northwest credit unions were also recognized with regional CUNA Awards. Named for some of the Credit Union Movement’s most influential and passionate pioneers, these awards celebrate dedication to financial education, and outstanding service to members and the community. The winning regional credit unions will advance to the national level.

Desjardins Youth and Adult Financial Education Award

  • (Youth) Gesa CU, Youth Financial Education
  • (Youth) Clackamas FCU, Financial Literacy within Clackamas County
  • (Youth) St. Helens Community CU, Reality Fairs, Student Tellers, and Scholarships Oh My!
  • (Adult)  St. Helens Community CU, Bringing Financial Education to the Community

Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award

  • Peninsula CU, Crossroads Housing Partnership
  • Our Community CU, Community Partner Education Grant Program
  • Gesa CU, 2016 Turkey Trot
  • St. Helens Community CU, Bikes, Wagons, and Bags
  • Mid Oregon CU, Wheels for the World
  • Unitus Community CU, Dream Come True Program

Louise Herring “Philosophy in Action” Member Service Award

  • Horizon CU, Community Spirit Days
  • Gesa CU, Kennewick School District Partnership
  • Rogue CU, Ownership Account

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners! Check out photos of the awards dinner and gala in our Facebook album.

Posted in MAXX Annual Convention.