News & Notes: Here’s What’s Happening Around the Northwest

St. Helens Community Members Reelect Three Directors

Members of St. Helens Community Federal Credit Union have voted to stay the course with their board of directors, voting last week to retain three directors who were up for reelection. The directors are Richard Louie, David Graham and Amanda Komp.

Louie has served as a director since 1979. Graham is a 30-year member of the credit union and starts his second term, and Komp has served on the board since last year.

“Our leadership has a vision for growth and sustainability that is producing results,” said Tom Tussing, board chairman. “Richard, David and Amanda have served varying lengths of time, but each has played an important role recently in moving our credit union forward. We’re thrilled they will continue serving our members.”

Tussing said the election results reflect the progress the credit union has made in the past two years strengthening its safety and soundness, investing in employees and members, serving the community and building for the future.

Indeed, in the past year, the credit union expanded its field of membership into Clatsop and Cowlitz Counties, and broke ground on a new branch. Membership now stands at 15,285 and assets have increased nearly 10 percent to $177 million.

“Our leadership is strong, unified and excited about our vision to serve our members, employees and community,” said President/CEO Brooke Van Vleet. “St. Helens Community Credit Union has been an important community partner for more than 75 years. We look forward to building upon this legacy of service and success in the year ahead.”

WSECU, RV Business Partner Donate to State Parks

Pictured here: Representatives from WSECU, MHRV Show Association and the Washington State Parks & Recreation Department.

A unique partnership between Olympia-based WSECU and the trade association representing manufactured homes and recreational vehicles, has resulted in a large contribution to Washington State Parks. A $14,608 donation is being earmarked for the state’s “treasured public spaces” according to a news release issued by WSECU.

For the past two years, the credit union has been the presenting sponsor for the largest regional recreational vehicle trade shows in western Washington. The shows are organized by the Manufactured Home-Recreational Vehicle Association (MHRV). Each partner contributed $1.00 for every show ticket sold at the box offices.

“Supporting parks was a natural fit for how our successful business relationship could give back,” said Ann Flannigan, vice president of public relations for WSECU.

“We know that state budget cuts have had an impact on the parks and we’re happy to contribute to their maintenance and enhancements,” added Dave Helgeson, director of the MHRV Show Association. “WSECU has been a great partner in helping us double the donation to make it go even further.”

iQ Promotes John Hapke to VP, Consumer Lending

iQ Credit Union has promoted John Hapke to vice president of consumer lending, where he is responsible for consumer loan underwriting, processing and loss prevention activities. He also administers the credit union’s consumer lending origination platform and implements new lending initiatives. Previously, he served as consumer loan manager.
Hapke brings over 20 years of financial services experience to the role. He joined iQ in 2010 after working for several years at Idaho State University Federal Credit Union in Pocatello, Idaho.
A graduate of Idaho State University, he has both bachelors and masters degrees in business administration. He also holds a certificate from the Western CUNA Management School at Pomona College, and has earned professional development certifications from several consumer lending educational programs. Hapke resides in Vancouver.

Solarity Awards $10K in Scholarships

Yakima-based Solarity Credit Union is easing the cost of higher education for five college students.

Each will receive a $2,000 scholarship. They were selected based on their academic records, financial needs, personal statements, community and school involvement and an essay. The 2014-2015 scholarship winners are:

  • Bailey Huylar, currently attending Washington State University
  • Sarah Tikka-Dills-Lovasz, currently attending Central Washington University
  • Taylor-Rhea McGuire, graduating from Selah High School, attending Central Washington University
  • Ramon Morfin, graduating from Davis High School, attending Washington State University
  • Cassandra Reil, graduating from La Salle High School, attending Belmont University

Questions about this story? Contact Lynn Heider: 503.350.2225,

Posted in Article Post.