St. Helens Community Federal Credit Union Expands into Clatsop, Cowlitz Counties

St. Helens Community Federal Credit Union (SHCU) has received approval to expand its field of membership west to the Oregon coast and north across the Columbia River.

In addition to Columbia County and Sauvie Island in Oregon, SHCU membership is now available to anyone who lives or works in northwest Oregon’s Clatsop County and in Cowlitz County in southwest Washington.

“We are excited to provide financial resources to families and businesses in these areas,” says Brooke Van Vleet, the credit union’s president and CEO. “Expanding our charter into Clatsop and Cowlitz counties enables us to serve communities in Washington as well as regions of the Oregon coast.”

SHCU operates three Oregon branches — in St. Helens, Rainier and Scappoose. Ryann Conrad, the credit union’s vice president of marketing, says SHCU is “continuing to evaluate the need for new branches” in Clatsop and Cowlitz counties, but none are currently planned.

SHCU members can already conduct their financial transactions in Cowlitz and Clatsop counties through shared-branching locations and at hundreds of ATMs on the CO-OP network, and online and mobile banking options are available to members everywhere.

“The Rainier branch has been serving members who live or work in Cowlitz County since it opened,” Van Vleet says. “Because we have been a part of these communities in one way or another for decades, the charter expansion made perfect sense. The expanded field of membership is a great opportunity for the credit union and its members.”

SHCU was originally formed in 1938 to serve the employees of the St. Helens Pulp and Paper Company and the Jaite Company. It now serves more than 15,500 members, with total assets of more than $171 million.

Questions? Contact Gary Stein: 503.350.2216,

Posted in Federal.