NWCUF Awards Season Opens; Honors Professional Achievements and Credit Union Community Impact

The Northwest Credit Union Foundation (NWCUF) has opened the 2013 awards season to recognize credit union professionals as well as credit unions’ impact on communities. The Foundation has announced new categories and criteria to honor the most distinguished innovation, engagement, impact and long-term commitment in the Northwest credit union movement.

The awards honor individuals in the categories of the Young Credit Union Professional, Innovation & Impact, and Lifetime Achievement. The awards are both administered and presented on behalf of the NWCUF, and are awarded at the Summit Awards Dinner & Gala, a marquee event at Amplify, the Northwest Credit Union Association’s (NWUCA) convention.

Individuals are nominated and individually interviewed as part of the nomination process. Self-nomination is also encouraged and welcomed in some of the categories. Nomination forms are available online.

The Summit Awards categories for 2013 are:

Young Credit Union Professional

The Young Credit Union Professional Award is designed to engage, promote, and recognize the next generation of credit union professionals in the Northwest credit union movement. This award, created for credit union professionals age 35 and under, aims to foster commitment to the development of credit unions in the years ahead. Nomination is now open online.

Innovation & Impact Award

Formerly titled the Credit Union Professional of the Year Award, the newly minted Innovation & Impact Award recognizes excellence within the Northwest credit union system. This category is open to credit union professionals whose outstanding accomplishments positively impacted the credit union movement during the past three years. Self-nomination is accepted for this award.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by the NWCUA

New to the NWCUA Awards Program, The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a credit union professional who exemplifies outstanding overall and sustained leadership in the credit union movement with respect to social responsibility, CU philosophy, advocacy efforts, and community impact. This award is governed by the NWCUA Awards Committee with respect to the criteria, but is determined by the NWCUA president & CEO and board chair. Candidates for this award are selected by the NWCUA executive leadership & board chair, and senior credit union leadership then votes if more than one candidate is nominated.

The deadline for entering the Summit Awards is July 19.

The National CUNA Awards

Credit unions positively impacting their communities will also be honored during Amplify.

The Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award, the Desjardins Youth & Adult Financial Education Awards, and the Louise Herring Philosophy in Action Member Service Awards are part of the Credit Union National Association (CUNA) Awards. The program recognizes excellence first at the state level, with winners then entered into the national competition.

This year, all CUNA Award entries will initially be accepted online. Once submitted the NWCUA’s CUNA Awards Committee will conduct a full review of the submission and determine award winners based on both award category and asset size. Those selected as winners will be notified by the NWCUA and asked to submit their physical entries, with those entries being sent on to CUNA for consideration of the national CUNA Awards. The entry deadline is July 19, 2013.


For more information on this award, please contact Josalyn Alston, NWCUA at jalston@nwcua.org; 206.340.4814.

Posted in Awards, CUNA, NWCUA.