NWCUA Members Garner Key National Leadership Posts

Shaping the future of the nation’s credit union industry is taking on an increased Northwest influence as The Credit Union National Association (CUNA) announced its’ national committee appointees for the coming year. Fourteen NWCUA members have been nominated to join the national discussion on the future direction of the industry and its national advocacy organization.

Troy Stang, President/CEO of NWCUA has been named to the CUNA Audit Committee. Six Oregon credit union leaders and seven from Washington give the Northwest a powerful voice in shaping future policy.

“This is our opportunity to shape and influence the actions of CUNA as they advocate for our industry with legislators and regulators,” said Tom Griffith of Pacific NW Federal Credit Union. Griffith has been named a member of the Exam and Supervision Subcommittee.

“The Examination and Supervision Subcommittee provides significant specific feedback to the many regulatory agencies on how their implementation of laws directly impacts our operations and ability to serve members”, he said.

Susan Streifel of Woodstone Credit Union has taken on the toughest challenge of all. She has been named to four committees including the chairmanship of the influential Corporate Governance Committee.

“I think it’s a great opportunity to help shape our own future,” Streifel said as she was entering a meeting in Portland with Buddy Gill, Senior Policy and Communications Advisor to NCUA Chairman Debbie Matz. Streifel also serves on the Governmental Affairs Committee, Partnership Committee and the Personnel Policies Committee.

Scott Burgess of Rivermark Community Credit Union is Vice-Chair of the State CU Subcommittee. Shirley Cate of providence CU will serve on the Awards Committee; Rick Hein of OSU Federal CU takes a seat on the Federal CU Subcommittee; Bonnie Humphrey-Anderson, also of OSU FCU will serve on the Community Credit Union Committee while Teri Robinson of Pacific NW Ironworkers FCU grabs a spot on the Small Credit Union Committee.

In addition to Streifel, other Washington representatives include; Carla Altepeter of Numerica CU on the World Leadership Development Committee; Debie Keesee of Spokane Media FCU on both the Small CU Committee and the Governmental Affairs Committee; Greg Mitchell of 1st Tech FCU on the Federal CU Subcommittee; Benson Porter of BECU on the Governmental Affairs Committee; Russ Rosendal of Salal CU takes a spot on the Cooperative Alliances Committee while Carlyn Roy of TAPCO CU joins the Housing Finance Reform Committee.

Congratulations to all our leaders for advancing the Credit Union Movement through their service.


Questions or comments? Contact Vice President, Public Relations & Communications Lynn Heider: lheider@nwcua.org.

Posted in Business Solutions, CUNA, Federal, Industry Insight, NWCUA, Strategic Link.