Northwest Credit Union Association Names New Board, Keesee Elected Chair for 2012-2013


October 15, 2012                                                     

Lynn Heider
Vice President, Communications and Public Relations
Northwest Credit Union Association
503.358.0773 (mobile)

Northwest Credit Union Association Names New Board
Keesee Elected Chair for 2012-2013

(Vancouver) Wa: The Northwest Credit Union Association (NWCUA) has elected its’ 2012-2013 board of directors and named Debie Keesee of Spokane media Credit Union as its new chair. The board was seated for the first time at the NWCUA’s Annual Business Meeting & Convention earlier this month in Vancouver, Washington.

The NWCUA board of directors recommends strategic and policy direction to the Association leadership team.

Board representation has been revamped this year, following the strategic plan outlined when the merger of the Oregon and Washington associations into the NWCUA was completed nearly two years ago. The new governance structure calls for one board member to represent each of eight geographic districts within the Association with three other members representing asset-based classifications.

Keesee is no stranger to the executive team having served as Chairman of the Washington Credit Union League during the merger process.

“It is a great honor to be selected by my colleagues to serve as their chairman for the coming year,” Keesee said. “We have an excellent board of directors who are committed to the ongoing excellence for which the Association has been known. We will continue to be progressive thinking, thought leaders as we look towards the future for our credit unions.”

Elected to serve with Keese as the board’s executive team is Jean Wheat-Palm of Valley Credit Union was selected vice-chair. Jack Fallis of Global Credit Union is the Association’s Secretary while Phil Jones of Harborstone Credit Union serves as Treasurer.

Other members of the board include: Bob Newcomb, SELCO Community Credit Union; Bill Anderson, Mid Oregon Credit Union; Tom Griffith, Pacific NW Federal Credit Union; Tom Graves, Prevail Credit Union; Terry Belcoe, North Coast Credit Union; Shirley Cate, Providence Federal Credit Union; Rob Stuart, OnPoint Community Credit Union.

Troy Stang, president & Chief Executive Officer of the NWCUA serves as a non-voting member of the board.


The Northwest Credit Union Association is the not-for-profit trade association serving 164 of Oregon and Washington’s credit unions and their 4.4 million members. The NWCUA is the voice of the Northwest credit union movement, providing legislative, regulatory and public advocacy in addition to education, compliance, networking support and business solutions to its members. For information on how to join a credit union, please visit

Click here to download the news release.

Posted in CUNA.